For An Inclusive Health System

Gay, bisexual, queer and Two-Spirit (GBQ2S) men continue to face significant challenges accessing health care services, particularly when it comes to mental health care. The ongoing COVID-19 pandemic is an additional challenge that has highlighted several flaws in the Quebec health system and is exacerbating difficulties in health care access for many. 

It is in this context that we launched the study: For a more inclusive health system for gay, bisexual, queer and Two-Spirit men (GBQ2S) in Montreal est lancée. The goal of this study is to describe the experience of GBQ2S men with health services and to reimagine health care services to make them more inclusive and equitable for GBQ2S. 

For this study, we are inviting GBQ2S men living on the island of Montreal to share their experiences with health services and their suggestions for improvement in Zoom discussion groups. Specific groups for racialized GBQ2S men and trans GBQ2S men are planned.

A compensation of $75 is offered to participants. 

For more information or to participate, contact our team: qollab@espum.umontreal.ca

HUMANS BEHIND THE PROJECT

Principal Investigator
Olivier Ferlatte

Research team
Gabriel Daunais-Laurin (Rézo), Steve Bastien (Rézo) et Tara Chanady

Research Assistants
Tristan Péloquin, Amina Rhanim et Geoffrey Ferber

This study is funded by the Comité régional en santé et bien-être des hommes de l’Île-de-Montréal.

This study is done in partnership with the community organization RÉZO. This study was approved by the Ethics Committee for Research in Science and Health (CERSES of the University of Montreal and funded by Comité Régional en Santé et Bien-être des Hommes de l’Île-de-Montréal.

Pour un système de santé inclusif

Les hommes gais, bisexuels, queer et bispirituels (GBQ2S) continuent de faire face à des défis importants reliés à l’accès aux soins de santé, surtout en ce qui a trait aux soins en santé mentale. La pandémie de la COVID-19 qui persiste est un défi additionnel qui a fait ressortir plusieurs failles dans le système de santé québécois et qui accentue les difficultés d’accès. 

C’est dans ce contexte que l’étude Pour un accès aux services de soins de santé plus inclusif et compréhensible pour la communauté des hommes gais, bisexuels, queer et bispituels (GBQ2S) de Montréal est lancée. Cette étude a pour but de réimaginer les services de santé pour les rendre plus inclusifs et équitables. 

Pour cette étude, nous invitons les hommes GBQ2S résidant sur l’Île de Montréal à venir partager leur expérience avec les services de santé et leurs suggestions pour les améliorer dans des groupes de discussion sur Zoom. Des groupes spécifiques aux hommes GBQ2S racisés et aux hommes GBQ2S trans sont prévus.

Une compensation de 75$ est offerte aux participants. 

Pour plus d’information ou pour participer, contactez notre équipe : qollab@espum.umontreal.ca

LES HUMAINS DERRIÈRE LE PROJET

Chercheur principal
Olivier Ferlatte

Équipe de recherche
Gabriel Daunais-Laurin (Rézo), Steve Bastien (Rézo) et Tara Chanady

Assistant.e.s de recherche
Tristan Péloquin, Amina Rhanim et Geoffrey Ferber

Cette étude est financée par le Comité régional en santé et bien-être des hommes de l’Île-de-Montréal.

Cette étude se fait en partenariat avec l’organisme communautaire RÉZO. Cette étude a été approuvée par le Comité d’éthique de la recherche du en sciences et en santé (CERSES de l’Université de Montréal et financée par Comité Régional en Santé et Bien-être des Hommes de l’Île-de-Montréal.